Who Needs 10 and 30 Hour Training?
We agree with OSHA that 10 and 30 hour training is a much needed element for protecting workers on the job site and these courses are fast becoming requirements for today's Construction Industry. Many unions, private companies, and government projects are now requiring workers to obtain OSHA Outreach Certification. Also, the states of Connecticut, Massachusetts, Missouri, New Hampshire, New York, and Rhode Island now require by law a minimum of 10 hours of OSHA safety training to work on a public jobsite. The State of Nevada has taken their requirements a step further with a minimum of 10 hour training for construction workers and a minimum of 30 hours of safety training for supervisors and superintendents. Nevada also requires continuing safety education to maintain 10 and 30 hour current certification:
Nevada MANDATORY OSHA 10 AND OSHA 30 TRAINING: NRS 618.
ADOPTED REGULATION REGARDING THE 10- AND 30-HOUR CONSTRUCTION COURSES CHAPTER 618 OF NAC (LCB FILE NO. R141-09) Effective April 28, 2010
How do I Find 10-or 30-hour Outreach Classes:
From the OSHA website:
There are a few ways in which workers can find 10-and 30-hour Construction Outreach training classes
- Outreach Training Website
OutreachTrainers.org is a free website that assists workers looking for 10-and 30-hour outreach training classes. OSHA encourages authorized outreach trainers to add their trainer profile and training schedules to the site. The site allows those seeking outreach training to search for trainers and schedules based on type of training and proximity.
- Active Outreach Trainer Lists
OSHA and the OSHA Training Institute Education Centers (OTIECs) distribute lists of active outreach trainers to those looking for 10-or 30-hour outreach training. Use the lists to contact trainers about their training plans. To obtain lists, contact the OTIEC in your area, see Attachment B of the program guidelines. Provide the following information:
- State(s) you are looking for
- Area of training - Construction and/or General Industry
- Your e-mail address, fax number or mailing address
If your request covers multiple regions, send an e-mail request.
- OTI Education Centers may also offer the 10- and 30-hour training.
- Search your OSHA Consultation office for outreach training that they may have scheduled.
- Take the training online. To obtain the list of sources that OSHA has accepted for on-line training, send an e-mail.
Will I receive my OSHA card at the end of the class?
It takes approximately two to four weeks for OSHA to process a request for student course completion cards. Once the process is completed, the cards are sent to our company, who then in turn, mails out the students' cards. Overall, the entire process takes about 4-6 weeks. In the interim, students will receive an HP&P Safety card and certificate at the end of class showing completion of their 10 or 30 hour training. As OSHA Authorized Instructors, these cards are accepted on job sites across the US.
Do the student course completion cards expire?
No. The student course completion cards do not have an expiration date. We are aware, however, that some private employers and the State of Nevada do require refresher or continuing safety education training. The Outreach Training Program is intended only as an orientation to Occupational Safety and Health. Workers must receive additional training on specific hazards of their job for Competent Person certification. Note: See Nevada Training Requirements above for exception to this answer.
I lost my 10- (or 30) hour student completion card. How do I get a replacement?
Contact your trainer. Your trainer will contact his/her OSHA training office for the replacement. Records are kept for five years plus the present year. If the training took place prior to this, no replacement may be issued. Note: Many OSHA Training Institutes are now charging a $26.00 fee for a replacement card.
Should I take instructor-led or online or training?
The choice is really up to you! As workplace safety consultants, we recommend instructor-led or onsite training because of the more "hands-on" learning environment. It is our experience that students also learn more from the direct interaction between Instructors and other students. For companies with workers out in the field, online training has proven to be a more flexible, self-paced learning environment for their employees. HP&P Safety offers instructor-led, online and on-site Outreach training. Whichever your preference, we can provide you with the highest quality training at the lowest prices. We offer excellent group discounts for all 10 and 30 Hour training. Online group discounts can add up to a of 70% off the total price.
Our company has been told we can get our employees 10 Hour cards with only 4-6 hour of actual training. Is this possible?
No, this is fraudulent information. All authorized trainers must comply with OSHA's specific guidelines for the Outreach Training Program. This includes the hourly requirement. When OSHA stipulates 10 or 30 hours training, they mean actual seat time, not time in the classroom. Any trainer found not to be in compliance with the guidelines, can have their status as an OSHA authorized trainer suspended or revoked. OSHA has created an Outreach Trainer Watch List and urges the public to call a new outreach fraud hotline at 847-297-4810 to file complaints about program fraud and abuse.
As a business owner, I can not afford to have my employees off the work site for 4 days in a row. Is online training my only option for 30 Hour Training?
HP&P will continue its policy of allowing students to break up this course in increments as we do understand the hardship imposed of having employees off the work site for four consecutive days. Training days can be taken in blocks of 1, 2, 3 or 4 days. All 30 hours of training must be completed within 6 months after completion of the 1st day of class to receive certification.
Can I still schedule my employees for OSHA 10 Hour training on Saturdays?
Saturday 10 Hour classes will no longer be regularly scheduled as in the past. HP&P will, however, schedule Saturday training upon request. This can take place over two Saturdays of the month or on a Saturday/Sunday combination. Additional fees for weekend scheduling may apply.
© HP&P Safety Inc.
30 S. Havana St., STE. 304F
Aurora, CO 80012
Serving Colorado, Wyoming and surrounding areas.